About Ms. Schepens

This section is to let you know a little more about me.  I believe that knowing people allows you to see their perspective and learn from the wisdom they have acquired throughout their lifetime.  Throughout the school year I will get to know and learn from many of you.  These are lessons that are important to me and help me grow as a person.  I hope my own life will do the same for you.  

 My Story:

I was born in Quito, Ecuador, South America.  My parents were missionaries there and I lived there for the first 11 years of my life.  Being in a third world nation has made me grateful for all that I have.  I have learned to value people for who they are no matter their culture. 

Right before my 6th grade year my family moved to New York, just outside of New York City.  My dad took a job as a professor and my mom as an accountant.  New York was so different from anything I had ever encountered!  The first couple years were very hard.  When I was a freshman in high school I went out for the track team as a thrower (shot put and discus). I was not even close to being an athlete but my coach believed in me and taught me many important things.  One of the most important lessons he taught me was that I was valuable and to never give up on myself even when things get hard.  Soon I was involved with track (indoor and outdoor seasons), concert band, jazz band (I play tenor sax), and many other clubs and activities both in school and out of school. 

I went to college at a small private college in Western New York called Houghton College.  I was a Mathematics major, Secondary Education major (later changed to a minor) and a Music minor.  I was involved with track until I injured my back.  After that I put myself into my music and was involved in 5 different music ensembles.  I graduated with honors (My honors thesis is on Using Galois Theory to Analyze Particular Extension Fields) and Magna Cum Laude. 

After college I was not sure what to do so I decided to do a six month internship at the International House of Prayer in Kansas City.  This gave me time to think, pray, learn, read, and most importantly figure out a little more of who I am and where I fit.  Afterwards I decided that I liked Kansas City and took a job as a math teacher in the Kansas City Missouri School District (first at Southeast HS and now at Central HS). I am completing my certification requirements to be certified in the state of Missouri this year ('08) and then aspire to complete a Masters degree and then Doctorate in Mathematics somewhere near Kansas City. 

This school year (2008-2009) I am teaching math at Central High School as well as being the Health Community Coordinator, assistant Volleyball coach, and assistant Track and Field coach (shot put and discus).  I am super exited to be teaching a second year here and the new lessons I will be learning this school year. 

 My Hobbies:

I enjoy playing sax, singing, drawing, painting, hanging out with friends, family, riding horses, working on my grandfather's ranch, playing all kinds of sports, hiking, backpacking, biking, mountain biking, reading, swimming, lifting weights, writing.

My Facebook: Schepens MathisAwesome