Grade 7 resources


The eight parts of speech 

There are eight different parts of speech that you need to know.

1. Noun

2. Verb

3. Pronoun

4. Adverb

5. Adjective

6. Prepostion

7. Conjunction

8. Interjection

Some of these may seem familar to you while others not to much. Don't worry, especially if you are a native English speaker, we often take for granted how our own language works as we just 'know' what sounds right and what sounds wrong. It is very useful, however, to understand what makes up our language, so that when you look at more complex grammar rules (e.g. where does a comma go?) you can actually understand what you are being told. 


1. Nouns

While we often just think about nouns as 'person, place, or thing', many of us often forget that nouns don't have to be physical. 

For example, "Spring break is just around the corner."

In this example, 'spring break' is a noun (also the subject of the sentence). Spring break isn't actually something you can physically touch; not in the same way you could touch a mug (also a noun).

These two different nouns are great examples for 'abstract' nouns versus 'concrete nouns'.

Simply put, an abstract noun is 'ideas' or soemthing you cannot physically touch while a concrete noun is a 'person, place, or thing' (all of which we can touch. 



Image result