DOWN TIME SITES

Here are some sites to visit when there is down time.

Math

Cool Math Site

Multiflyer

Save the Apples - Addition

Great Math Site - Elementary

Minus Mash

2nd Grade Math

Kindergarten Math

Kindergarten - Count by 2s

1st Grade Math

4th Grade Math

1st Grade Math

Multiplication

Games

Skills Practice

Government/States

White House

US Government for Kids

Fun Facts About Our Presidents

Missouri Secretary of State Kid's Page

More Fun Facts About Our Presidents

About Our Governor

Typing

Typing Test

Typing Lessons

Dance Mat Typing

Typing Test

Super Hyper Spider Typer

Power Typing

Kids

Keyseeker

Typing Tutor & Tests

Online

Reading

Reading Plus

Scholastic Books

Online Reading!

Books to Read Online

Clifford, The Big Red Dog

PBS Kids

Zoo Books

Scholastic

Starfall

Alphabet Book

Reading Eggs

Indians

Native American Tribes

Legends of America

On Your Birthday

Birthday Trivia

History on Your Birthday

On Your Birthday

Games

Funbrain

Kaleidescope Painter

Computer Games

20 Questions

ABC YA

Hooda Math

Primary Games

The Yucky but Educational Website

Enchanted Learning

Make Your Own Game

Educational

Hot Shot Business

Nick Jr.

Boggle

Learning Games

Logo Quiz

Computer Games

Free Rice

Word Searches & Sudoku

Animals

Animal Planet

Kid's Dinosaur Page

Science

A Science Odyssey

National Wildlife Federation

Astronomy for Kids

Engineering Interact

English

Poetry 4 Kids

Spelling City

Other

Discovery Channel

Activities

Activities for Small Children

CNN Student News

Facts, Figures, & Even Homework Help!

Online Stopwatch

Graph Builder

World Fact Book for Kids

Economy at a Virtual Mall

Resources

YouTube Converter (Video to MP3)

Image Converter

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Math

Cool Math Site http://www.coolmath.com/

Multiflyer            http://www.brainormous.com/

Save the Apples - Addition          http://www.playkidsgames.com/games/apples/savetheApples.htm

Great Math site - Elementary     http://www.ixl.com/

Minus Mash       http://www.arcademicskillbuilders.com/games/mission/mission.html

2nd Grade           http://www.harcourtschool.com/hspmath/na/grade_2_na.html

Kindergarten     http://www.harcourtschool.com/hspmath/na/grade_k_na.html

Kindergarten - Count by 2's         http://www.ixl.com/math/kindergarten/skip-count-by-twos

1st Grade            http://www.harcourtschool.com/hspmath/na/grade_1_na.html

4th Grade            http://www.harcourtschool.com/hspmath/na/grade_4_na.html

1st Grade            http://www.ixl.com/math/grade-1

Multiplication    http://www.multiplication.com/

Skills Practice     http://www.kidport.com/

Government/States

White House      http://www.whitehouse.gov/about/white-house-101/

US Government for Kids               http://library.thinkquest.org/5873/

Fun Facts About Our Presidents                http://www.mistergworld.com/12-002.htm

Missouri Secretary of State Kid's Page    http://www.sos.mo.gov/kids/

More Fun Facts About Our Presidents    http://www.scholastic.com/teachers/article/fun-facts-know-about-white-house-residents

About Our Governor      http://governor.mo.gov/

Typing

Typing Test         http://www.learn2type.com/

Typing Lessons  http://www.typing-lessons.org/

Dance Mat Typing            http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/typing/

Typing Test         http://www.typingtest.com/

Super Hyper Spider Typer            http://funschool.kaboose.com/fun-blaster/games/game_super_hyper_spider_typer.html

Power Typing    http://www.powertyping.com/

Kids        http://www.auntlee.com/

Keyseeker          http://www.annrymer.com/keyseeker/

Typing Tutor & Tests       http://www.rapidtyping.com/

Online   http://www.typingweb.com/

 

Reading

Reading Plus      http://www.readingplus.com/

Scholastic Books               http://teacher.scholastic.com/professional/profbooks/technology/easyinternet/index.htm

Online Reading!                http://www.magickeys.com/books/

Books to Read Online     http://www.starfall.com/n/level-c/fiction-nonfiction/play.htm?f

Clifford, The Big Red Dog              http://www.teacher.scholastic.com/clifford1/index.htm

PBS Kids               http://pbskids.org/

Zoo Books           http://www.zoobooks.com/

Scholastic            http://www.scholastic.com/parents/play/

Starfall  http://www.starfall.com/

Alphabet Book  http://www.playkidsgames.com/games/alphabetGame/default.htm

Reading Eggs      http://readingeggs.com/

Indians

Native American Tribes http://library.thinkquest.org/J0110072/

Legends of America        http://www.legendsofamerica.com/

On Your Birthday

Birthday Trivia   http://www.butlerwebs.com/holidays/birthday.htm

History on Your Birthday               http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history

On Your Birthday              http://www.dayofbirth.co.uk/

Games

Funbrain              http://www.funbrain.com/

Kaleidescope Painter     http://www.permadi.com/java/spaint/spaint.html

Computer Games            http://funschool.kaboose.com/

20 Questions      http://www.20q.net/

ABC YA http://www.abcya.com/

Hooda Math       http://www.hoodamath.com/

Primary Games http://www.primarygames.com/

The Yucky but Educational Website         http://yucky.discovery.com/flash/

Enchanted Learning        http://www.enchantedlearning.com/Home.html

Make Your Own Game  http://www.sploder.com/

Educational         http://ww6.computerlabkids.com/?kw=Computer+Lab+Kid

Hot Shot Business            http://disney.go.com/hotshot/hsb3/index.html

Nick Jr.  http://www.nickjr.com/kids/

Boggle  http://www.wordtwist.org/init.php

Learning Games               http://www.learninggamesforkids.com/

Logo Quiz            http://logoquiz.net/

Computer Games            http://www.teagames.com/

Free Rice             http://www.teagames.com/

Word Searches & Sudoku             http://www.learningplanet.com/

Animals

Animal Planet    http://animal.discovery.com/

Kid's Dinosaur Page         http://www.kidsdinos.com/

Science

A Science Odyssey          http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/aso/tryit/

National Wildlife Federation       http://www.nwf.org/Get-Outside/Be-Out-There/Why-Be-Out-There/What-is-a-Green-Hour.aspx

Astronomy for Kids         http://www.kidastronomy.com/related/solar_system.htm?

Engineering Interact       http://www.engineeringinteract.org/interact.htm

English

Poetry 4 Kids      http://www.poetry4kids.com/

Spelling City        http://www.spellingcity.com/

http://smartypins.withgoogle.com/

www.practicalmoneyskills.com   It has a number of different things--my kids love financial football and financial soccer.

We use a variety of typing games in my class. They like TypeRacer and 10FastFingers. We have Google accounts and they can log in with them.

And, sometimes if they have no missing work in other classes, I'll let them play the trivia type games on Sporcle.

The dictionary page has some word games--> http://www.merriam-webster.com/game/index.htm

 

 Personal Finance:

W-4 Chat on-line between brothers:

http://www.stlouisfed.org/education_resources/personal_finance/W-4.html

Payday Loans Chat between friends:

http://www.stlouisfed.org/education_resources/personal-finance-101-chats/pf-101-chat-payday-loans

How to get a car loan chat:

http://www.stlouisfed.org/education_resources/personal-finance-101-chats/pf-101-chat-how-to-get-a-car-loan

Car Insurance chat:

http://www.stlouisfed.org/education_resources/personal-finance-101-chats/pf-101-chat-car-insurance

Open a bank account:

http://www.stlouisfed.org/education_resources/personal-finance-101-chats/pf-101-chat-how-to-open-a-bank-account

Prepaid debit cards:

http://www.stlouisfed.org/education_resources/personal-finance-101-chats/pf-101-chat-prepaid-debit-cards

 

FAFSA:

http://www.stlouisfed.org/education_resources/personal-finance-101-chats/pf-101-chat-fafsa

 

Debit Cards:

http://www.stlouisfed.org/education_resources/personal-finance-101-chats/pf-101-chat-all-about-debit-cards

1040EZ:

http://www.stlouisfed.org/education_resources/personal-finance-101-chats/pf-101-chat-1040ez

Buy here pay here:

http://www.stlouisfed.org/education_resources/personal-finance-101-chats/personal-finance-101-chat-buy-here-pay-here

 

PERSONAL FINANCE GAMES

·         Interactive baseball game that tests your knowledge of economics and pro sports trivia.

http://www.bos.frb.org/peanuts/index.htm

·         Escape from the Barter Islands

http://www.clevelandfed.org/learning_center/online_activities/barter_island/index.cfm?DCS.nav=Local

 

·         Show Business:  The Economics of Entertainment (Music Industry or Film Industry)

http://www.bos.frb.org/entertainment/index.htm

 

·         Pursuit:  Economic Adventure Game

http://www.economicadventure.org/pursuit

·         Financial Football

http://www.practicalmoneyskills.com/games/trainingcamp/ff

·      Restaurant simulation game that teaches students how to run a business. www.earn4good.com/games/--Dinner

·      A real-time strategy game teaching students how to develop clean energy while turning a profit.  Students build wind turbines in order to fulfill a targeted energy-offset goal. www.persuasivegames.com/games/--Windfall

·      Bank On It  http://www.startheregoplaces.com/profile/

I like https://geoguessr.com   The kids get into and try to nail it down. 

 

Other

Discovery Channel           http://dsc.discovery.com/

Activities              http://dsc.discovery.com/

Activities for Small Children         http://www.meddybemps.com/7.33.html

CNN Student News         http://www.cnn.com/studentnews/

Facts, Figures, & Even Homework Help!                http://www.factmonster.com/

Online Stopwatch            http://www.online-stopwatch.com/

Graph Builder    http://nces.ed.gov/nceskids/createagraph/default.aspx

World Fact Book for Kids               http://kids.yahoo.com/reference/world-factbook

Economy at a Virtual Mall             http://www.ftc.gov/bcp/edu/microsites/youarehere/

Resources

YouTube Converter (Video to MP3)        http://www.youtube-mp3.org/

Image Converter              http://www.online-convert.com/

www.bepublishing.com                http://www.bepublishing.com/

Lesson Plans, etc.            http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/

Helpful videos   http://www.commoncraft.com/

Tutorials               http://www.gcflearnfree.org/

Common Core & MAP   http://www.cherylsclassroomtips.com/2011/05/ela-common-core-state-standards.html

Earobics               http://www.earobics.com/