Limited Time Offer: Get 2 Months of ABCmouse.com for only $5!

7th Grade Art

Southwood Middle School ~ 7th Grade Art
Welcome 7th grade! Hope you have all had a wonderful summer. Now that the school year has begun please keep in touch and stay updated by using this website often. It will provide you with the Quote of the Week, Upcoming Events, Assignment Descriptions, and Recommended Internet Websites for additional personal research and activites.                                                                                                             
                                              ~ Ms. Aurich ~

Quote of The Week:

"Every child is an artist. The problem is how to remain an artist once we grow up."   - P. Picasso

Upcoming Events:

Contents coming soon...

Assignment Descriptions:

Contents coming soon...

Recommended Internet Websites:

For Art History and/or Independent Research, I recommend the following websites: 

          - Archives of American Art: http://www.aaa.si.edu/

          - Art 21: http://www.pbs.org/art21/

          - Corcoran - American Art: http://www.corcoran.org/collection/browse_results.asp?Dept_ID=1

          - Corcoran - Contemporary Art: http://www.corcoran.org/collection/browse_results.asp?Dept_ID=2

          - Corcoran - Eurpoean Art: http://www.corcoran.org/collection/browse_results.asp?Dept_ID=3

          - Did You Know? World Cultures: http://www.diduknow.info/world/

          - Discovery: http://dsc.discovery.com/

          - Kidipede: http://www.historyforkids.org/ 

          - Kids Art: http://www.kidsart.com/IS/index.html

          - National Gallery of Art: http://www.nga.gov/kids/

          - National Geographic: http://www.nationalgeographic.com/

          - Smithsonian Encyclopedia: http://www.si.edu/Encyclopedia_SI/default.htm

          - WebMuseum - Timeline of Art History: http://www.ibiblio.org/wm/paint/tl/

          - World Cultures: http://www.princetonol.com/groups/iad/lessons/middle/world.htm

For Art Activities, Interactive Games, and to Make Online Art, I recommend the following websites:

          - A Lifetime of Color: http://www.alifetimeofcolor.com/ 

          - Albright-Knox Art Games: http://www.albrightknox.org/artgames/loader.html

          - ArtPad: http://artpad.art.com/artpad/painter/

          - Art Thread Interactive Art: http://www.artthread.org/addart.php

          - Did You Know? Portrait Gallery: http://www.diduknow.info/portraits/

          - Getty Games: http://www.getty.edu/gettygames/

          - National Gallery of Art - Making Art Online: http://www.nga.gov/kids/zone/zone.htm

          - Picasso Portrait Maker: http://www.mrpicassohead.com/

          - Make Your Own Pop-up: http://www.robertsabuda.com/popmakesimple.asp

          - smARTkids: http://smartmuseum.uchicago.edu/smartkids/home.html

          - The Exploratorium - Seeing: http://www.exploratorium.edu/seeing/about/introduction.html

For information on various local Museums and Art Galleries, I recommend the following websites:

        - Atlas Galleries: http://www.atlasgalleries.com/index.cgi

          - College of Dupage Permanent Art Collection: http://www.cod.edu/art_collection/index.htm

          - Loyola University Museum of Art (LUMA): http://www.luc.edu/luma/

          - Moraine Valley Community College - Art Gallery: http://www.morainevalley.edu/fpac/Season/gallery.htm

          - Museum of Contemporary Art (Chicago): http://www.mcachicago.org/

          - Oakton Community College - Koehnline Museum of Art: http://www.oakton.edu/museum/

          - Smart Museum of Art: http://smartmuseum.uchicago.edu/

          - The Art Institute of Chicago: http://www.artic.edu/aic/

          - The Artshow.com (online gallery): http://www.artshow.com/

          - Thomas McCormick Gallery: http://www.thomasmccormick.com/#

Get 2 Months for $5!