Types of schengen visas

A Schengen visa issued by any of the member states of the Schengen area allows, in terms of validity and periodic restrictions, to be held by the holder throughout the Schengen area according to the members of the Schengen Union.
Depending on the type of visa issued by the specific embassy or consulate of each Schengen country, there are different restrictions that apply according to the nature of the trip and other conditions related to the specific visa.

Schengen visas are the same

The same Schengen visa is a permit from one of the Schengen countries to transfer or reside in the region for a specified period of up to 90 days in each six-month period from the date of arrival. The same Schengen visa holders can travel to the following countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. Depending on the purpose of the trip, the same Schengen visa applies to both "A" and "C" categories.

Category A visa

Category A stands for Airport Transit Visa, which allows its holder to pass through the Schengen International Airport without entering the Schengen area. Airport transit visas are required for citizens traveling from a non-Schengen country to a non-Schengen country by changing flights at a Schengen airport.

Category C visa

Category C means a short-stay visa that allows the holder to pass through a Schengen country for a certain period of time, depending on the validity of the visa. This special category, according to the purpose of the visa holder's trip, can be in the form of the following visas:

  • single entry visa,
  • double entry visa,
  • multiple entry visa

A single entry visa allows its holder to enter the Schengen area only once in a given period of time, as indicated on the visa label on his passport. Once the visa holder has left the Schengen area, he or she can not return even if the person's visa validity remains.
Some people mistaken for a one-time visa. They think that it is related to the number of countries that the visa holder is allowed to visit, if this is not the case and only one person can travel to the country.
In fact, the territory you want to visit is close to the valid visa sticker on your passport, while the length of time you stay is close to the entry number tag.


In general, a double entry visa is applied in the same way as a single entry visa described above. The only difference between a single entry visa and a double entry visa is that the second gives you the opportunity to return to the Schengen area after leaving the country.
You must be very careful not to exceed the number of days you are allowed to stay in the Schengen area as well as the number of days you can spend in the EU. Once again, do not confuse a double-entry visa with the number of countries you are allowed to enter and stay on time.
With this visa, when you leave the Schengen area for the second time, you no longer have the right to return to it, even if you have not given up all the days you are allowed to stay in that country.
 However, if you have received a double-entry visa more than once and are a frequent traveler to the Schengen area, you will most likely be granted a multiple-entry visa as described below.