Language Arts

The McGraw-Hill Wonders reading program is our district's reading curriculum.  This program is Common Core aligned.  It uses explicit and systematic reading instrustions.  Students build their fluency and comprehension skills while enjoying a wide variety of book genres.  Listed below are the six units in our reading program.  Each lesson revolves around an essential question and important key concepts.

1.  Getting to Know Us

2.  Our Community

3.  Changes Over Time

4.  Animals Everywhere

5.  Figure It Out

6.  Together We Can

The first grade reading instruction focuses on the following skills:

*Phonemic Awareness

*Sounds and Spellings

*Big Books and Trade Books


*Dictation and Spelling


*Workshop/Choice Time