Back to School

School Line


Pencil Trio MiniReligion

I love teaching religion!  My mission is to pass on the Catholic faith so that it is understood, valued, and integrated into the whole of a student’s life.  Together with parents, we can provide this foundation for full Christian living, thereby enabling each child to reach his or her full potential. 

 Throughout the St. Jerome Parish School curriculum, children are taught the gospel values of love, forgiveness, honesty, compassion, and service, as well as the difference between right and wrong.  In this way, we fulfill Jesus’ mandate “to teach them all that I have commanded you. Catholic Social Justice:  Catholic social teaching is an essential part of our faith.  The Church is a community that exists for mission.  As God in his goodness reaches out to humanity, so the People of God are called through Baptism to embrace and share God’s goodness with others.  We are sent by God just as Jesus was sent on a mission to continue God’s work on earth.  Catholic social teaching is an integral part of religion class.  The basic concepts of social justice along with examples from our long social tradition are woven into every chapter.  The take-home section, called Family Time, helps family members deepen their understanding of Catholic social justice.

To refresh your memory, the themes of Catholic Social Justice are:  1) Dignity of the Human Person, 2) Common Good and Community, 3) Option for the Poor, 4) Rights and Responsibilities, 5) Role of Government and Subsidiarity, 6) Economic Justice, 7) Stewardship of God’s Creation, and 8) Promotion of Peace and Disarmament. We are currently using the Blest Are We series in religion.  Here is  a brief outline of content for third grade: 

Unit 1:  The Church Is One

Chapter 1:  The Holy Spirit Guides Us to Become Church

Chapter 2:  We Receive the Sacraments of Initiation

Chapter 3:  We Show Our Love for One Another

Chapter 4:  We Pray for Unit and Each Other’s Needs 

Unit 2:  The Church Is Holy

Chapter 5:  Jesus Shows Us How to Forgive and Heal

Chapter 6:  We Celebrate Reconciliation and Healing

Chapter 7:  Jesus Teaches Us How to Love and Care

Chapter 8:  We Pray to the Holy Spirit 

Unit 3:  The Church Is Catholic

Chapter 9:  Catholics are “Open to All”

Chapter 10:  We Gather for Mass

Chapter 11:  We Serve Others

Chapter 12:  We Pray for All People 

Unit 4:  The Church is Apostolic

Chapter 13:  The Church Continues the Mission of the Apostles

Chapter 14:  We Are Committed Through the Sacraments

Chapter 15:  We Are Faithful to Our Commitments

Chapter 16:  We Pray for Faith 

Unit 5:  The Church Has a Mission to the World

Chapter 17:  The Church Is a Sign of the Kingdom of God

Chapter 18:  We Are Called to Serve

Chapter 19:  The Church Is a Witness for Justice and Peace

Chapter 20:  The Church Prays for World Peace


Liturgical Years:  From the first Sunday in Advent of 2008 until the first Sunday of 2009 – Liturgical Year B

Liturgical Calendar

Apple Line