Memory Verses

7th/8th Grade Memory Work
Verses are from the New International Version (NIV)

7th/8th Grade Memory Work
Verses are from the New International Version (NIV)

Friday, August 24
“He will show you which path to take.” Proverbs 3:6 NLT

Friday, August 31
“And hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured out into our hearts through the Holy Spirit, who has been given to us.”  Romans 5:5

    Friday, September 7
“When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is mankind that you are mindful of them, human beings that you care for them?”  Psalm 8: 3-4

Friday, September 14
“May the Lord make your love increase and overflow for each other and for everyone else, just as ours does for you.”  1 Thessalonians 3:12

    Friday, September 21
“...and walk in the way of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.”  Ephesians 5:2

Friday, September 28
NO MEMORY

Friday, October 5
“The LORD is my light and my salvation— whom shall I fear? The LORD is the stronghold of my life— of whom shall I be afraid?  Psalm 27:1

Friday, October 12
“You make known to me the path of life; you will fill me with joy in your presence, with eternal pleasures at your right hand.”  Psalm 16:11

Friday, October 19
NO MEMORY
Friday, October 26
“For this God is our God for ever and ever; he will be our guide even to the end.”  Psalm 48:14

Friday, November 2
“Brothers and sisters, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it. But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.”  Philippians 3:13-14

Friday, November 9
“You, dear children, are from God and have overcome them, because the one who is in you is greater than the one who is in the world.” 1 John 4:4

Friday, November 16
“Let perseverance finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.”  James 1:4

Friday, November 30
“The earth is the LORD’s, and everything in it, the world, and all who live in it.”  Psalm 24:1

Friday, December 7
“Here is a trustworthy saying: If we died with him, we will also live with him; if we endure, we will also reign with him.  II Timothy 2: 11-12

Friday, December 14
        NO MEMORY

Friday, December 21
“Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power.  Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. Ephesians 6:10-11

Friday, January 18
“Wait for the LORD; be strong and take heart and wait for the LORD.” Psalm 27:14


Friday, January 25
“...and have put on the new self, which is being renewed in knowledge in the image of its Creator.”  Colossians 3:10


    Friday, February 1
“We know also that the Son of God has come and has given us understanding, so that we may know him who is true. And we are in him who is true by being in his Son Jesus Christ. He is the true God and eternal life.”  1 John 5:20

Friday, February 8
“The LORD is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and he helps me. My heart leaps for joy, and with my song I praise him.”  Psalm 28:7

Friday, February 22
“And this is what he promised us—eternal life.” 1 John 2:20

Friday, March 1
“From his dwelling place he watches all who live on earth— he who forms the hearts of all, who considers everything they do.”  Psalm 33:14-15

Friday, March 8
“But now, Lord, what do I look for? My hope is in you.”  Psalm 39:7

Thursday, March 15
“In all your ways submit to him, and he will make your paths straight.”  Proverbs 3:6

Friday, March 22
“When my spirit grows faint within me, it is you who watch over my way. In the path where I walk people have hidden a snare for me.”  Psalm 142:3

Friday, March 29
“All the days of the oppressed are wretched, but the cheerful heart has a continual feast.”  Proverbs 15:15


Friday, April 5
“To this you were called, because Christ suffered for you, leaving you an example, that you should follow in his steps.” 1 Peter 2:21

    Friday, April 12
“They speak of the glorious splendor of your majesty— and I will meditate on your wonderful works.” Psalm 145:5

Friday, April 26
        NO MEMORY

Friday, May 3
“Trust in him at all times, you people; pour out your hearts to him, for God is our refuge.”  Psalm 62:8

Friday, May 10
“And being found in appearance as a man, he humbled himself by becoming obedient to death— even death on a cross.”  Philippians 2:8

Friday, May 17
” Therefore God exalted him to the highest place and gave him the name that is above every name, that at the name of Jesus every knee should bow, in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue acknowledge that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father.”  Philippians 2:9-11

Friday, May 24
“The LORD has done it this very day; let us rejoice today and be glad.”
Psalm 118:24