Virginia Child Protective Services Information
Report Abuse Now!
In Virginia: (800) 552-7096
Out-of-state: (804) 786-8536
Hearing-impaired: (800) 828-1120
Licensing Policy- Any person who works in the medical, law enforcement, education field or who has received training approved by the Department of Social Services for the purposes of recognizing and reporting child abuse must report the matter immediately. This report should be made to the local department of the county or city where the child lives or where the abuse is suspected to have occured. Any person who makes a report of abuse/neglect will be immune from any civil or criminal liability, unless the person acted in bad faith or with malice. If a person who is required to report and fails to do so as soon as possible, but not longer than 24 hours after suspecting abuse/neglect will be fined not more than $500 for the first failure and $1000 for any additional. In the case of rape, sodomy or object sexual penetration, any person who knowingly and intentionally fails to report will be guilty of a Class 1 misdemeanor.
Program Policy- Any staff member that suspects child abuse will report the suspicion to the director or acting dirctor as soon as possible and then to the appropriate agency while in the presence of the director or acting director. A log of the report as well as the signs observed will be kept in a confidentional file seperate from the child's file. Parents will be notified at the director or acting director's discretion after consulting with the CPS investigtor. Staff members who report child abuse shall be immune from discharge, retaliation, or other discipliinary action. Malicious reports are unethical and unprofessional and will not be condoned. Online Child Abuse and Neglect training is required for each staff member within their first 30 days.